Health and Welfare Resources

Shown on this page are associations and foundations which are excellent sources for additional information related to specific conditions and diseases.

Association or Foundation Phone Number Website
Administration on Aging 1-202-619-0724 http://aoa.gov
Alzheimer’s Association 1-800-272-3900 www.alz.org
American Academy of Dermatology 1-888-462-DERM http://aad.org
American Cancer Society 1-800-ACS-2345 www.cancer.org
American Diabetes Association 1-800-232-3472 www.diabetes.org
American Dietetic Association 1-800-877-1600 www.eatright.org
American Foundation for the Blind 1-800-232-5463 www.afb.org
American Heart Association 1-800-242-9236 www.americanheart.org
American Kidney Fund 1-800-638-8299 www.kidneyfund.org
American Liver Foundation 1-800-223-0179 www.liverfoundation.org
American Lung Foundation 1-800-LUNG-USA www.lungusa.org
American Podiatric Medical Association 1-800-FOOTCARE www.apma.org
American Sleep Apnea Association 1-202-293-3650 www.sleepapnea.org
American Thyroid Association 1-800-THYROID www.thyroid.org
Arthritis Foundation 1-800-283-7800 www.arthritis.org
Asthma & Allergy Foundation of America 1-800-7-ASTHMA www.aafa.org
Birth Injury Guide 1-877-415-6603 www.birthinjuryguide.org
Brain Injury Association 1-800-444-6443 www.biausa.org
Centers of Disease Control and Prevention 1-800-311-3435 www.cdc.gov
Center for the Partially Sighted 1-800-481-3937 www.low-vision.org
Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America 1-800-343-3637 www.ccfa.org
Elder Care Locator 1-800-677-1116 www.eldercare.gov
Epilepsy Foundation of America 1-800-EFA-4050 www.efa.org
Glaucoma Research Foundation 1-800-826-6693 www.glaucoma.org
Health Finder www.healthfinder.gov
Huntington’s Disease Society of America 1-800-345-HDSA www.hdsa.org
Interstitial Cystitis Association 1-800-435-7422 www.ichelp.org
International Hearing Society 1-800-521-5247 www.ihsinfo.org
Lupus Foundation of America 1-888-38LUPUS www.lupus.org
Medic Alert Foundation 1-800-432-5378 www.medicalert.org
Medicare Hotline 1-800-MEDICARE www.medicare.gov
Mental Health America 1-800-969-6642 www.nmha.org
Muscular Dystrophy Association 1-800-572-1717 www.mda.org
Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America 1-800-541-5454 www.myasthenia.org
National Cancer Institute 1-800-422-6237 www.cancer.gov
National Council on Aging 1-800-424-9046 www.ncoa.org
National Easter Seal Society 1-800-221-6827 www.easterseals.com
National Family Caregivers Association 1-202-772-5050 www.nfcacares.org
National Health Information Center 1-800-336-4797 www.health.gov/nhic
National Hemophilia Foundation 1-800-42-HANDI www.hemophilia.org
National Hospice Organization 1-800-658-8898 www.nhpco.org
National Institute on Deafness 1-800-241-1044 www.nidcd.nih.gov
National Institutes of Health 1-301-496-4000 www.nih.gov
National Kidney Foundation 1-800-622-9010 www.kidney.org
National Library of Medicine 1-888-346-3656 www.nlm.nih.gov
National Multiple Sclerosis Society 1-800-242-3358 www.nmss.org
National Osteoporosis Foundation 1-800-223-9994 www.nof.org
National Paralysis Foundation 1-800-925-2873
National Psoriasis Foundation 1-800-723-9166 www.psoriasis.org
National Spinal Cord Injury Association 1-800-962-9629 www.spinalcord.org
National Stroke Association 1-800-787-6537 www.stroke.org
Paget Foundation 1-800-23-PAGET www.paget.org
Prevent Blindness America 1-800-331-2020 www.preventblindness.org
Recordings for the Blind and Dyslexics 1-800-221-4792 www.rfbd.org
United Ostomy Association of America 1-800-826-0826 www.ostomy.org